I've Changed My Thinking On Self-Taught Development...

Looking back recently at some of the struggles I've faced in the past as a self-taught developer, I think I've pinpointed a few things that would have helped.

Looking back recently at some of the struggles I faced early on as a self-taught developer, I think I’ve pinpointed a few key things that would have helped.

JavaScript and Python will get you into the industry, no doubt.

They will kindle a love of programming due to how practical and fun it is to build apps with them.

However, you never really get to understand what’s going on under the hood.

And this is where I made my mistakes early on.

This led to holes in my thinking that brought the imposter syndrome and struggle and confusion.

Fortunately, it could have been remedied with a few changes that I’m NOW realizing and piecing together.

In this brand new YouTube video, I’ll discuss what learning Rust uncovered about my own deficient skillset and why I think any self-taught developer's second language or further learning should go the way of a lower-level language and the deeper concepts it will teach you.

P.S. Those languages are NOT C or C++.

The discussions in the comments have been great!

Be sure to chime in with your thoughts after watching!

Reply

or to participate.